Canberra’s Best Real Estate Agents Recognized at Industry Awards Night


Independent Property Group was the big winner of the evening, taking home seven awards. Photo: Independent real estate group.

Canberra’s real estate industry came together for a glamorous post-containment celebration at the 2021 Real Estate Institute of the ACT’s Awards for Excellence, held at the Hotel Realm on Saturday night.

Twenty-seven awards were presented, honoring real estate agents, agencies and managers from all sectors of residential and commercial real estate.

REIACT President Hannah Gill congratulated all the winners and finalists.

“This year’s submissions were interrupted by the lockdown, and having so many finalists is a testament to their level of professionalism and the importance of these awards to our nominees,” Ms. Gill said.

Now in its 27th year, 19 of the Institute’s Excellence Award winners are eligible to represent ACT at the National Awards of Excellence to be held in Melbourne in April 2022.

Local franchise Independent Property Group took home the most awards, winning seven categories including Great Residential Agency of the Year and Residential Sales Team of the Year for Team Mark Wolens, Nicholas Jacob, Jock Bush and Holly Smith.

Independent Inner North and City’s Mark Larmer, Aaron Lewis and Tania Butler-Kemp have been inducted into the REIACT Hall of Fame after being recognized as the 2018, 2019 and 2020 Home Sales Team of the Year.

Jason Roses and Alysia Walsh

Jason Roses of Verv Property took home the Residential Seller of the Year award. Photo: Property of Verv.

Independent Property Group CEO Kylie Dennis said 2021 has been a huge year for Independent Property Group.

“The past 12 months have seen new leadership and restructuring, in a competitive market, then a 10 week foreclosure. Leaving with these prices is a reflection of the quality of our employees. “

Ms. Dennis also acknowledged the work of REIACT CEO Michelle Tynan.

“Michelle has done an exemplary job during a difficult year for the entire industry. We are grateful for the work she has done.

The President’s Award went to Matthew Herbert of LJ Hooker for his contribution to real estate in Canberra over the past four decades.

Matthew was unable to attend the party, but his son and daughter accepted the award on his behalf. In a statement, Mr. Herbert said his greatest joy has been to develop and mentor so many people who have become fully-fledged institutions.

“I have seen many brands come and go,” Mr. Herbert said.

“I have seen the rise of internet portals, social media and technologies that have changed the way we do business. What I have learned is that you have to evolve over time and it is essential that we are in control of our own destiny.

“To do this, we must be a strong, united industry and aspire to a better environment to protect what some have spent a lifetime building.

“This is the main reason why I am involved with Zango. I urge you to look to the future, to believe that we are striving to control our own destiny and to create a better environment for all.

“I was not always a member of REI, which I regret, but I have learned that we are stronger together and that change can only happen from within.

READ ALSO: New laws prevent developers from tearing up off-plan contracts without justification

Verv Property Manager Jason Roses took home the Residential Seller of the Year award and the Rookie of the Year went to Alysia Walsh of Verv Property.

The auctioneer of the year was Alec Brown of Ray White Canberra.

Sally Strang of holly won the Real Estate Marketer of the Year for the Campaign for the Paterson House in Aranda, designed by architect Enrico Taglietti.

Sally said getting the list was “very special” and that she will never forget.

“What stood out for me was doing justice at home and having the privilege of working on this campaign. It is such an iconic house.

“This list showcased what holly does best, being able to showcase the amazing architectural elements of the home and get the right audience for it.

“Really, our whole team was involved in this campaign. We had about 800 people in the house. It was so well received and I couldn’t have done it without the support of my team.

Holly Komorowski, Bianca Way, Sally Strang and Chris O'Brien Holly Komorowski of Holly, Bianca Way, Sally Strang and Chris O’Brien. Photo: home.byholly.

Holly Komorowski, director of holly, said she was thrilled the team was recognized. Agent Chris O’Brien was also a finalist for Property Development of the Year, while Bianca Way won the Excellence Award.

“I am really happy for Bianca. She has only been in the industry for two years. Her entry was a reflection of her time in the industry and how she navigated the intricacies of real estate. It’s a statement of what an excellent agent she is.


Comments are closed.